Month: April 2019

ECOM Summer ’19 Graduate Research Fellowship Recipients

We’re pleased to announce that ECOM has awarded summer stipends to support four exciting ECOM-related projects:

  • Ken Ito: “The Origins of Denial” ($2,500)
  • Ryo Tanaka: “Knowledge of Meaning: Reconciling the Epistemic Intuition about Meaning and Empirical Theories of Linguistic Understanding” ($2,500)
  • Eno Agolli: “Pragmatic Unsettledness: A Pragmatic Solution to the Syntactic Problems of the-Predicativism” ($1,250)
  • Aliyar Ozercan: “Curiosity: What May Connect Homo Sapiens to the Rest” ($1,250)

Early in the Fall, we’re hoping to host an ECOM event in which these projects will be presented informally.

Congratulations, Ken, Ryo, Eno, and Aliyar!

Drew Johnson Awarded 2019 Millikan Research Fellowship

ECOM member Drew Johnson was one of the recipients of this year’s Ruth Garrett Millikan Graduate Research Fellowship. This fellowship was created in 2017 with the aid of generous admirers, friends, and colleagues of Professor Ruth Garrett Millikan, one of the world’s most distinguished living philosophers, and a cherished member of UConn’s philosophical community. The recipients are outstanding ABD students in the Philosophy Department who use the fellowship to further their graduate research study in the summer of the award year. Congratulations, Drew!